We’re experiencing a nice lull in our Saying Grace efforts. The second youngest child has finally come to grips the fact that “Dinner time!” does not mean a desperate run to the table where we will immediately stuff our faces with whatever is within reach, edible or not. She has finally (grudgingly) accepted that we will sit still without touching anything, say Grace, then wait until she is served. This acceptance always takes longer than I remember — months of perseverance, tears and drama. But the day does come. Meanwhile, our youngest (four months old) sits blissfully unaware in his bouncy chair, waiting for the day when he too will be able to make a mad dash to the table at dinner time.

Our usual Grace is this:

Bless us, O Lord, and these Thy gifts,
which we are about to receive
from Thy bounty, through Christ our Lord.
Amen.

but sometimes when we’re feeling musical, we do this one:

Oh, the Lord is good to me,
And so I thank the Lord
For giving me the things I need
The sun, and the rain, and the apple seed.
The Lord is good to me.
Johnny Appleseed [CLAP]
Amen!

FRIDAY NO-MEAT MEAL IDEA
Tuna cups! I have to admit that I Googled this, just so that I could give you a more official recipe (I couldn’t find one). I also have to admit that I only started making this in 2009, when my husband asked, “Why don’t we have tuna cups?” and I replied, “What are tuna cups?” Basically, crustless bread is stuffed into muffin tins and toasted a bit in the oven to form the “cups”. Then, tuna salad (mayonnaise, tuna, maybe minced celery) is spooned into the toasted bread cups, topped with grated cheese, and placed back into the oven just to melt the cheese. Highly popular. (Update: One can of tuna with a reasonable amount of mayonnaise and one stalk of celery fills six cups.)

