2009 Archdiocesan Youth Rally, OCY

World Youth Day 2011 will take place in Madrid, Spain on August 15-21, 2011. Now, back in the day when I was a youth, I attended World Youth Day in Manila, Philippines and Rome, Italy. In 2002, I took a group of students to World Youth Day right here in Toronto.

I can’t say enough what an incredible experience World Youth Day was to me as a teenager. I would say that it sparked the flame of faith that continues to sustain me now. There just isn’t anything like celebrating the faith thousands (in Manila, millions) of young people from around the world.

I mention this because I came across the registration information for 2011 on the website of the Office of Catholic Youth and it seems that registration is NOW. The definition of “youth” is 18 years of age and over, so if you have (or know) young people in that age range and are interested, I highly recommend reading their FAQ page or contacting them.

Besides organizing trips around the world during these World Youth Days, the Office of Catholic Youth also organizes events locally and has resources for parish youth ministries. Check out their website for more information.

