Sometimes I get caught up in the wrong thing. Ok, often I get caught up in the wrong thing. In the daily hustle and bustle of running a household, making sure Health Canada doesn’t close us down for the state of our bathroom, I lose sight of what is important. I can almost hear it in my head: Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing. [Luke 10:41-42]. Making time for prayer is something that I continue to struggle with. When I do find time to do it, then I worry about whether I’m doing it right. My life-saver of a sister-in-law recently gave me a neat, little book called Time for God: A Guide to Prayer by Jacques Philippe.

What matters in prayer is not what we do, but what God does in us during those moments. This principle is liberating because sometimes we find ourselves incapable of doing anything in prayer, which is not at all tragic, because if we cannot act, then God can act–and always does–in a more profound way in our hearts…
In the final analysis, the essential act in prayer is to place ourselves in God’s presence and remain there.

Amidst the lunches and laundry and taxes and bills, amidst the routine, I lose Jesus. But He doesn’t lose me.

