Teaching modesty to children and adolescents means awakening in them respect for the human person.
– line 2524, Catechism of the Catholic Church

…chastity lets us love with an upright and undivided heart;
– line 2520, Catechism of the Catholic Church

Ah, modesty. So far, it has taken the form of telling my daughters to be mindful and sit properly when they’re wearing skirts. Or my husband vetoing inappropriately mature-looking outfits. Or finding a nice dress for an underdressed Barbie. While the whys of modesty are a bit beyond our little kids now, my husband and I feel that we should continue to grow in our understanding of it. After all, we’re driving this crazy ship. We better know where we’re headed. My hope is that we will slowly help them see the beauty of being able to “love with an upright and undivided heart”.

