The invocation of the holy name of Jesus is the simplest way of praying always.
– Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2668

Sometimes things get stuck in the mind of a three-year-old. Sometimes things get stuck for a long, long time. I guess sometime way back in Lent, the song that is sung during the Stations of the Cross lodged itself into my daughter’s brain. Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom. Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom. It’s become a soundtrack to many of our activities: in the car, in the bath, while colouring. My daugther has inadvertently discovered a centuries old method of prayer called the Jesus Prayer, or the Prayer of the Heart, where one repeats a brief phrase which contains the name of Jesus. It was a bit difficult listening to her over and over again, but now it’s kind of nice. It’s grown on me, I guess.

