Sunday night sock sorting

There’s nothing quite like secretly prompting the kids to do something nice for someone else. Giving daddy a kiss at the end of the day, giving a sibling a hug when they’re sad, finding a nice toy for a fussy baby, helping me find all the dark socks from a mountain of laundry… the day is full of nice things to do for someone else. It’s like I’m playing a computer game. I need to find all the potential acts of kindness that I can delegate to my little kids to score points. The more things I suggest, the more practice they get. The more practice they get…

One of my other favourite things about being a parent is witnessing spontaneaous, unprompted acts of generosity. Like watching our two-year old put unmatched socks together in a ball and then into a random dresser drawer. Better than cable, any day.

