There is a revolving door for good books in my life these days. Just recently, a wise person lent me The Temperament God Gave You: The Classic Key to Knowing Yourself, Getting Along with Others, and Growing Closer to the Lord by Art and Laraine Bennett. The authors propose that people can be (very roughly) classified into four temperaments (or combinations of those four). My husband and I persevered and did the long quiz at the back to find out many things that we already know, and a few surprises that really shed light on a few challenges that I’ve been having with parenting. Apparently some of my children and I are different. (Yes, folks, she CAN be taught.) For example, they may not be as motiviated by a challenge as I am and may even shrink away from it naturally. Nothing motivates me like a pressing deadline, while pressing deadlines simply paralyzes one of my kids.

The neatest thing about this book is that it offers many concrete ideas of helping little people on their journey of faith — ideas on how to lead each temperament closer to God. Each child will have their unique challenges and motivations and I need to open my eyes and really get to know what makes each of them tick.

