The first thought that I have in the morning sounds something like grumble grumble grumble what time is it grumble grumble. The next thought sounds something like grumble grumble is it a school day grumble grumble. Which is to say that I’m not really a morning person. Or more accurately, I’m really NOT a morning person. So I’ve been avoiding blogging about a prayer that I’ve always struggled with: the morning offering. It involves offering one’s day to Jesus first thing in the morning. Here’s the version that I’m working towards:

O JESUS, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary, I offer You my prayers, works, joys, and sufferings, all that this day may bring, be they good or bad: for the love of God, for the conversion of sinners, and in reparation for all the sins committed against the Sacred Heart and the Immaculate Heart of Mary.

So far, I’ve been having greater success with this one:

Jesus, I offer you all of today.

Orienting our whole self toward Jesus in the morning is a beautiful idea – it sets the tone for the day. I imagine holy men and women around the world jumping out of bed, not hitting snooze, and uttering this prayer to Jesus with great love. A far cry from what I manage every morning, but I keep persevering. This is my personal game plan:

  1. Get up with a little bit of time to spare. This means that I’m not waking up, looking at the clock in alarm and running around like a headless chicken.
  2. Add a request for help during prayers the night before. Guardian Angel, please help me remember to pray when I get up.
  3. Think of something concrete to offer the day to. Christians in the Middle East. A child struggling with school.

I have great hopes that I can make this prayer as integral to my morning as coffee is.

