As we’re putting away Christmas things, I thought I would share two Christmas books that we enjoyed this year.

The Story of Christmas by Vivian French, illustrated by Jane Chapman. This book was a simple and sweet (yet accurate) telling of the Christmas story. It read really nicely without sacrificing any of the details of the story. I didn’t have to ad-lib at all. Here’s the part in the beginning with Gabriel and Mary, to give you an idea of what it’s like:

At first Mary was frightened, but Gabriel told her not to be afraid. “God sent me, he said. “God has chosen you to be the mother of His baby. His name will be Jesus.”
Mary smiled. “I’m happy to do whatever God wants,” she said.

I’m happy to do whatever God wants. Isn’t that a great way of simplifying “Behold, the handmaid of the Lord; be it to me according to your word”?

The Little Drummer Boy, illustrated by Ezra Jack Keats. The classic song with really expressive illustrations. Complete with the score. Can’t tell you how many times we sang this song over the holidays.

