“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
– 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Between my morning prayer and bedtime prayer, the day goes by very quickly. Before I know it, I’m getting ready for bed, trying to remember if I turned to God at all since 7:00am. I am certain there’s an Iphone or Blackberry app for this — something that beeps at appropriate times. Unfortunately, I’m smartphone-less and have to rely on more primitive (and cheaper) forms of reminders.

Stubbed toes. Stubbed toes, paper cuts, pinched fingers, headaches – whose day isn’t peppered with small pains? Instead of letting these go to waste with a grimace and a grunt, use them as a remember to say hello to God. “God, I just stubbed my toe. It really hurts.”

Snacks. Saying Grace doesn’t have to be just for big meals. Before taking a bite of that mid-morning granola bar, one could say a mini-Grace. “Thank you, Jesus for this granola bar.”

Annoying people. Someone cut you off on the 401? Someone rudely insinuate that you shouldn’t be parking in the Expectant Mother spot? Take a deep breath and swallow your angry retort. “God, please help me be patient. Please bless this person. Please show me what you would like me to do here.”

Minor annoyances. No Frills has run out of their sale items again. The one-year old has flushed an entire roll of toilet paper. Your husband has shrunk your favourite sweater. “Oh, Jesus… No Frills has run out of their sale times again, my old-year old has flushed an entire roll of toilet paper and my husband shrunk my favourite sweater. Sigh.”

This list could go on and on, since the goal is to offer as much of our lives back to God. There’s peace that comes from looking at these little (good or bad) things as chances to pray. Acknowledging God’s presence in each of life’s little minutes lightens the load that we sometimes assume we’re lifting on our own.

