The folks at St. Clement Parish are providing us with three opportunities start the Lenten season this Ash Wednesday:

8:15 a.m. – Sung Parish Mass
9:30 a.m. – St. Clement School Mass
7:00 p.m. – Sung Parish Mass

Why Ashes?
The ashes “remind us that the glory of this world has no lasting value. All is dust and ashes. The only thing with eternal value is our relationship with Jesus Christ. [from the bulletin]”

Corporal Works of Mercy
During Lent, we are all called in a special way to prayer, fasting and almsgiving. This year, we thought it might be a good idea to teach the kids about the Corporal Works of Mercy, which breaks down almsgiving into more tangible activities:

  • To feed the hungry.
  • To give drink to the thirsty.
  • To shelter the homeless.
  • To clothe the naked.
  • To visit and ransom the captive.
  • To visit the sick.
  • To bury the dead.

In Particular, Visiting
Little kids are particularly good at bringing joy to folks who might be in a lonely season in their life. They often don’t even realize that it’s a gift that they can give, and that the people they visit really appreciate the company. This Lent, we’re going to try our best to seek out those whom Jesus has put in our life who are in need of a smile, a giggle, some pleasant conversation, or a cup of tea.

Just Ask
I struggle with feeling discouraged during Lent. When I am weighed down by my weaknesses, by my sins, by the demands of day to day life, the thought of forty days of self-sacrifice is enough to take the wind out of my sails. Those are the days that I have to ask for help. Jesus, please help me love you. Jesus, please help me see you in the people around me. Lent is a gift — a chance to focus, a chance to remove the distractions and remember what is truly important. And for those of us who are weighed down, Lent is a particularly precious, much needed gift. Pray for our family this season. I will also keep you in mine.

