morningoffering
The taps are shiny because cleaning the bathroom sink is not my chore.

At some point, early in Summer, my husband scribbled the Morning Offering onto a piece of recycling and taped in underneath the bathroom mirror, above the sink. He got this idea at his mum’s house, where there is a nicely framed version affixed onto the wall of their main washroom, also within view of anyone brushing their teeth.

Our humble version is now water and toothpaste-stained, crumpled and almost falling off. But BOY is it ever a hard-working piece of paper. It’s RIGHT THERE. You would have to awkwardly avert your eyes to not see it. Every single person who can read in our house (which is now more than 50% of us!) is now more likely to remember to say this prayer as they start their day.

O JESUS, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary,
I offer You my prayers, works, joys, and sufferings,
all that this day may bring,
be they good or bad: for the love of God,
for the conversion of sinners, and
in reparation for all the sins committed
against the Sacred Heart and
the Immaculate Heart of Mary.

It’s the sort of prayer that really helps me get into the right frame of mind. I can’t be all “Whoa! Sufferings?! Who said anything about sufferings?!” since I explicitly offered them up to Jesus, as I was brushing my teeth. I also offered some prayers and works, so it would be good to have some of those in the day, too.

longislandsunset
One of the highlights of our Summer break

The joys are bonus.

